Happy Baseball HOF Day

Tuesday is a day that baseball fans both look forward to, yet sometimes dread at the same time.

Early Tuesday evening (5 P.M. CT), the Baseball Writers Association of America will announce their 2019 hall of fame ballot results.

Several players are expected to gain entrance to Cooperstown, with former Yankees closer Mariano Rivera chief among them.

Personally, I can’t stand the Yankees (I’m a Braves guy – look at the history through the late 90’s and early 2000’s to understand why), but Rivera’s final appearance in Pinstripes was one of my favorite baseball memories:

Current rules allow writers to vote for up to ten (10) players. If I had a ballot, here’s who I would select (year on ballot in parenthesis)

  • Mariano Rivera (1st)
  • Edgar Martinez (10th)
  • Roger Clemens (7th)
  • Barry Bonds (7th)
  • Billy Wagner (5th)
  • Roy Halladay (1st)
  • Todd Helton (1st)
  • Andy Pettitte (1st)
  • Larry Walker (9th)
  • Curt Schilling (7th)

More explanation on why coming soon.

~ JQ

Leave a Reply